• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

The stable 2WD

AMiller

** Killed In Action **
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Hey Guys,

I am new to the automotive world so please bear with me.

Just wondering if there is anything I can do to make my Ranger handle better in bad weather. I have a great set of winter tires on there now, but the truck keeps slipping when the roads get really snowy. I have also put some weight in the back (about 180 lbs). Just wondering if there is a better fix than alot of sand bags.

Thanks in Advance,

Andrew

Last edited:

ILLEGALCONCEPTS

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3 Modified
Transmission
Manual
I remeber the first year I put "real" snow tires on my truck. I went everywhere. I was heading home one night from work taking my time waiting for some moron to go up a hill when a 4x4 passed me up. Once the "unable driver" was clear of the hill I started my run w/o issue only to find the 4x4 guy off on the side of the road from going too fast. Then I got a LS rear end and what a difference that made.

You have to take your time and learn how the truck responds to slipping around. I use to leave work (which is a 1/2 mile series of bends and hills) with one side or the other hanging slightly out. As long as you are in control and still moving, you'll make it home. My truck liked 2nd gear at about 2500RPM. It gave me the right about of spin to keep the tires clean but not enough to sink through to pavement and burn the rubber. There is a fine line that you must find and the only way to do that is to get out there. Get a set of chains incase you do get stuck and through a bag of salt in the back for those "ice" situations that can pop up.