• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3T maintenance.

Dddaviso7

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Fords
Engine Size
4.6,2.9,2.3t
Transmission
Manual
I'm going to be swapping in the 2.3T into my Ranger, In the near future and I was just curious as to what plugs and oil to use. I'm new to the Turbo scene and I just want to run what's best for the motor. If there is anything else "special" I need to be aware of, please let me know. Any and all suggestion will be much appreciated. Thank you!

-Davis

Sevensecondsuv

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Many
Make / Model
All Fords!
Engine Size
Many
Transmission
Manual
You want Motorcraft plugs for an 88 turbocoupe. Gap them at 0.028" for TFI ignition and 0.032-0.035 for DIS ignition.

Regular old 5w30 ro 10w30 is the oil to use. However, if you run conventional oil, let it idle for 30 seconds before you turn the key off. This will help circulate oil thru the hot turbo to cool it before oil flow ceases. This will help avoid coking of the oil in the turbo. If you run synthetic, which can withstand higher temps without breakdown, it's not as big a deal. Also change the oil more often, like every 2000-2500 miles.

Dddaviso7

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Fords
Engine Size
4.6,2.9,2.3t
Transmission
Manual
Thanks for the reply!

Alright, so the Iridium plugs aren't going to perform any better? Good, because I noticed they're 3x's as much..... hah

And I was planning on running a synthetic oil or even the red line oil. With oil changes having to be so soon, I think I'll run a synthetic blend, like Castrol Syntec. Save a little money.

Sevensecondsuv

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Many
Make / Model
All Fords!
Engine Size
Many
Transmission
Manual