• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Advice for a noob?

ranger_steve

Reaction score
From PEI, living in Grande Prairie Alberta
Vehicle Year
1993, 2007
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
hey guys,
im buying a ranger this summer and im looking into lift kits and all that jazz. The ranger i'm looking at is a '99 4x4 xlt. I'm trying to figure out the cheapest and most hands on way for me to do a lift big enough for 35's. Any prices would be greatly apreciated! I have access to loads of welding and fab tools in our automotive shop at school and im a half decent welder, in grade 11. :icon_welder:
thanks in advance,
steve

wahlstrom1

J-man HD Mech
OTOTM Winner
2011 Truck of The Year
Forum Staff - Retired
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Transmission
Manual
If you wanna lift a ranger cheap, and your in high school look for a 97' or older truck. TTB suspension is MUCH cheaper and easier to lift then newer SLA suspension, and easier to solid axle or build a long travel setup for down the road.

ranger_steve

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1993, 2007
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
thanks for the tip, and thats basically what i've read so far on multiple ranger/off road forums is that the 98+ year rangers are more expensive to lift because of the different front suspension. i'll just have to wait for the right deal i guess.

88_Eddie

Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1988, 2000
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.9L, 4.0L
Transmission
Manual
i knew a bunch of guys that did that back when i was in high school. i was a retard and took gym. (i liked seeing the ladies in short shorts too much i guess)