• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

A4LD won't engage.

CMDRyzin

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.9 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Total Drop
Not sure if this is where I am supposed to post this but I'll give it a shot.

1988 Ford Ranger 2.9l v6 4x4
A4ld transmission with borgwarner transfercase
Truck is used but appears to be all original.

Basically I rebuilt the A4LD because it also would not do anything and now that it is reinstalled it still won't do diddly squat.

When I opened it up I noticed that the intermediate plunger/piston was damaged and torn.

At this point I thought that was the only problem (total noobie at this point).
Continued to replace everything I could from my master rebuild kit following every YouTube video and literature I could find. Took me almost a week.

After installation now it won't engage at all. (It didint before so meh)
Google and just about every post I see says no line pressure.

Except I have pressure no problem on my test gauges ranging from about 50-60psi while idling
Pressure goes up and down with engine speed just fine.

I did raise the back wheels off the ground chocked the fronts and gave it some gas in different gears but nothing. Dead.
Unfortunately all my search results net me no help

Hopefully this is just me forgetting something

The only thing I could think is that whatever ENGAGES 1st and 2nd is "not right" I have no idea what that would be. My rebuild kit came with two bands and two sets of clutches with a ton of gaskets and o-rings. If you think I'm missing something or should just check anything please let me know.

Does the lock up even lock up in first? Idk I think it's only 3-4th

Reverse/low piston? Idk what that is either.

Thanks for any future help or advice.

Last edited:

Shran

Junk Collector
TRS Forum Moderator