• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1995 Ranger SHO

firebat45

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Transmission
Manual
I decided to post this here as well. I know SHO motors very well but I'm still new to Rangers, so this forum will probably be more help than the SHO forum.

I picked up a B3000 with a screwed motor, ripped it out and trashed it. I've always wanted to put a SHO into a Ranger, and I could use a parts hauler. The rest of the truck is in very decent shape, interior is great, just needs a new motor.

It's 2WD, 5 speed, completely stock. I'd like to keep it looking stock for now, no lifts or lowering in the plans.

I've got a 3.2 and a 3.0 SHO motor, either could go in. I'm leaning towards the 3.0 because this is not my project car (my SHO is) and it doesn't need a ton of power. It's still going to be heaps more than the Vulcan ever had. I do prefer the single accessory belt that the 3.2 has though, so we'll see.

I've already got all the clutch/flywheel problems sorted out from my other car (RWD Taurus).

The main issue I can see right now is that the SHO heads hang over the rear of the block about 3-4 inches, due to the DOHC and the timing chains. The Vulcan is pretty much flush, and there's not 3-4 inches of room between the Vulcan and the firewall. Width, height, and length all seem to be fine, I'd just like the engine to be shifted forward 2-4 inches. Can I just move the tranny crossmember forward 2-4 inches, lengthen driveshaft, bend shifter a bit more, and be done with it? Does anyone have a different solution?