• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

My 8.8 Re-Gearing Endeavor.

Hahnsb2

TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
88-95
Make / Model
Ford-Dodge
Engine Size
4.0-5.2 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
I'm posting this up since this is my first time regearing. I'm using Yukon 4.56s/master install kit, if that make's any difference. I'm also using a crush sleeve eliminator. For setting the pinion depth, I've heard before that you can use the old bearings and open them up so they slide on and off the pinion easier so you can easily change the shims untill you've reached the correct pinion depth. Now if I do this and then install the new bearings is there a potential size difference in the bearings that could throw off my pinion depth from what it was when setting it with the old bearings? To determine the pinion depth I need to install the carrier and get it within correct backlash, and once I've done do I only need to adjust the pinion depth? Also the pinion has numbers engraved on the end of it, I've heard before these have something to do with the pinion depth, can I use these numbers to my advantage when setting it up? Also when checking the pinion depth I leave the crush sleeve/Crush sleeve eliminator out and just tighten the nut to seat the bearings and then install the crush sleeve eliminator after everything else is set and then fiddle with it's thickness to set the bearing preload? Also the install kit came with some red loctite I know to use it on the pinion nut I've heard before to use it on the ring gear bolts as well yet the yukon manual doesn't mention anything about the ring gear bolts, I do use it on the ring gear bolts, correct.
I've looked around quite a bit but I still feel the need to ask those who've done it before for their advice. Thanks for any help.

Last edited:

Todd

HCT
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year