Home Discussion Forum Tech Articles Other Articles Featured Rides Readers Rides Classifieds Shirts & Decals Parts Store

Ford Ranger Discussion Forum

Off-Road Truck Of The Month

'RICO9'
July 2014 OTOTM

Mini Truck Of The Month

'Cole' Dave'
July 2014 MTOTM

Old 07-21-2008, 12:15 AM   #1
spikeekips

Vehicle Year: 1987
Vehicle Make: Ford
Vehicle Model: Ranger XLT
spikeekips is on a distinguished road
Default '87 2.3L Timing Belt Help

Forgive me if I missed a post about this already, but I searched and couldn't find anything about my particular situation. I just spent the better part of the afternoon replacing my timing belt, and when I got everything put back together the truck won't start. While I am new to Rangers, I am not new to engine work. I thought I read something in one of the forums that said to line up the auxiliary shaft sprocket mark with the the Cam sprocket timing mark, but apparently I was mistaken. It sounds like the ignition is trying to fire on the wrong part of the stroke. My question is, is there a better way to see if all the sprockets are lined up correctly, other than making sure the crank is at TDC, making sure the auxiliary shaft is set up so that the distributor is pointing at the #1 wire, and the Cam sprocket is lined up with its timing mark? Or is that even correct?
I have a Chilton manual, but it doesn't seem to reference auxiliary shaft timing marks.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
spikeekips is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Notices (Not shown to 'Premium Members')

Reminder:

We're looking for participants to help move our banner from Alaska to Florida: Click HERE.

Click HERE to see the banner map.

Want to become a Premium Member & not see these notices? Click HERE.

Want your truck considered for Truck Of The Month? Click HERE.

Don't forget to vote!

Old 07-21-2008, 07:46 AM   #2
shadetree

Vehicle Year: 1994
Vehicle Make: Explorer Sport
I use this vehicle for: Work
shadetree is on a distinguished road