Home Discussion Forum Tech Articles Other Articles Featured Rides Readers Rides Classifieds Shirts & Decals Parts Store

Ford Ranger Discussion Forum

Off-Road Truck Of The Month

'AgPete139'
September 2014 OTOTM

Mini Truck Of The Month

'alexp11'
September 2014 MTOTM

Go Back   The Ranger Station Forums > Styling & Electrical > Audio & Video

Audio & Video Stereos, video players, game systems and custom speaker/sub enclosures.

Old 10-17-2012, 02:31 PM   #1
TheTwanksta
09/12 07/13 STOTM

Vehicle Year: 2006
Vehicle Make: Ford
Vehicle Model: Ranger STX
I use this vehicle for: Daily Driver
TheTwanksta will become famous soon enoughTheTwanksta will become famous soon enough
Default DIY: Ford Ranger Double DIN Install

I created this article for my build thread and figured I would go ahead and make a thread for those looking to do their own install as well. This was the first time I have ever installed my own radio, but Im not a complete newb when it comes to overall car mechanics. The install was actually fairly easy after gathering all the info I needed from various ranger and audio forums. After a few days of research and viewing sveral other members installs, the American International dash kit seemed like the best kit. I believe its the only one that allows for a "flush" mount installation out of the three major kits (AI, Metra, Scosche).

Parts Need For Double Din / Navigation Installation:
American International FM-K552 Dash Kit - Double Din Dash Kit

Metra 70-1771 Wiring Harness - To Connect your factory 98-up Ranger harness to the Pioneer harness.

Scosche DIN Factory Radio Removal Tool - Not necessary, but recommended to remove factory radio.

Dremel W/ Various Bits - To cut your bezel to allow for double DIN to slide in. I actually bought a $10 off-brand kit from Harbor Freight. It was way under-powered, but it got the job done. Took about 30 minutes to complete mine. If you have a real Dremel, it will go MUCH faster for you.