• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.3 L into 1971 VW single cab

itlives

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual
Hey, my name is Mike. I've been getting information from the guys over in the 4-banger forum.
I'm new to these engines as I've been into VW's for the last 10 years. I'm switching to the 2.3 for more HP and less problems.
You would not believe the after-market crap that's out there for V'dubs!
I do mean crap.

So, here goes with a new (for me) trial ballon!
The plan is to get as much prep work done before I "put the truck down". I want to be able to go camping in the fall.
A lot of what I'm doing has been done before. I'm just taking whatever ideas I can get and trying to make them work for my application.

I started out with a 2.0 out of a Ranger- that's how I got here. I wound up with a 2.3 from a '87 Mustang turbo engine sans the turbo. I had the block bored .030 over and new pistons and any necessary machine work is already done and I assembled the block. We got the head on this weekend- it is freshly built, too. I have a OMC intake with a summit Racing adapter and a Holley 350 to help it breath. I also have an Esslinger adapter kit for my late model bus transmission. Shorty header.

Many things have to be "rigged" and any suggestions will be appreciated.
I still need -
Water temp gauge
Accelerator cable and linkage
Radiator system figured out
"Sparkage" figured out (I have an MSD box)
Fab up the motor mounts.
Exhaust

So I'll bring you up to speed with some pics and commentary. Pleas chime in with any suggestions.
One other thing, my friend that's helping me has already done this to his '73 VW with a 2.8 Chevy. He used to race Pinto's on the dirt track so I'm confident in his help.