• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Matt's Bronco II build

Surrey

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Alright I figured its about time to introduce the truck, and start a build thread.

I started with a 1988 Bronco II, bought for $500 in May 2009. Wheeled it a few times, but the clutch was going out, and I blew it quickly... Also destroyed a hanger, which in turn blew out the back two body mounts when the suspension started resting on the bottom of the body. Spent $300 on some mediocre used 31" tires.

Finally have the funds to fix it up back in January, and so I start looking at putting a body lift on it, and realize both rear body mounts were absolutely trashed. Had blown holes in the rusting frame. As I have no experience in welding, and the truck already needed a new clutch, I said F*** it, replacing the truck.

So I have replaced the truck. Another $500 Bronco II. This time its a 1989. Its from America, and has a 5-digit speedo so I really have no idea how far it has traveled, but it reads 14xxx miles.

The interior is immaculate. The frame is also in immaculate shape. The only place there is any rust is at the back edge of the front fenders, where the running boards meet the wheel well. The tranny is in rough shape, stupid auto, but my girlfriend needs to learn to drive, so sadly even if I replace that it will stay an auto... And the engine and exhaust both could use a bit of work, but for $500 Im still very excited.

Right now, I am busy tearing apart the old truck at a friends house, in his carport. I have pulled the whole top of the engine apart, as well as stripped the other useful crap out from under the hood (power steering, alternator, ect) Somebody stole the radiator and tranny cooler that was leaning against the fence... That pissed me off, even though I didn't have any plan for them.