• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Electronic to Manual 4x4 Conversion

Davey Crocett

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I'm new at this but here goes, I'm making plans to convert my 1993 Ranger
Electronic 4x4 to a manual 4x4...I've had nothing but problems with it. I was told that I can use a B2 driveshaft for this. What model years of B2 can I use that will bolt up to my 1350 Borg Warner T-case. Any info would help.
Thanks.

Donnie strickland

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Is your 1993 Ranger still stock? If it is, you have a 1354 t-case, not a 1350.

91exploreron37

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
And if it is a elec 1354 you can swap in a manual 1350 t-case but make sure you get the driveshaft with the 3 1/2in u joint and you will probably have to shorten it a few inches. If you have a lift you may not have to I'm swappin one in today and will find out how much it needs to be shortened if any.

Donnie strickland

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Well, if it is an electric 1354 he can do a direct bolt-in swap for the manual 1354.

I guess that's why I'm wondering...because if he's already got an electric 1350, he could just swap in a manual 1350.

Davey Crocett

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
Hi Donnie,
It is stock and yes I do have a 1354 T-case, but I just purchased a 1350 T-case for
50 bucks. I've had problems with the 1354 and when I talked with our local Ford dealer, parts department, they said that basicially the only difference between the two was a slight upgrade.

91exploreron37

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual