• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Rear end of frame fabrication questions

sfwjesse

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Hi guys. My dad just bought a 93 extended cab 4x4. It has low mileage but the rear bumper and about 1' of the frame in the back is rotted out. I guess the rest of the frame is good but as you know ford made things pretty flimsy the further back you go on the frame.

I was thinking of finding a solid parts ranger and just cutting the last 3 feet of the frame off and welding it on. I am no fabricating expert so we were going to bring it somewhere, i am assuming getting everything lined up perfect is key because the rear shackles would hang off the new piece.

Is this whole thing a bad idea or has this been done before failry inexpensivley?

sfwjesse

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Also, if i do this, was there a difference in the standard cab and extended cab frames? If the wheel base is the same does it matter what type of cab i steel the frame piece from?

Viper Command

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2x'97-'88-'98-'
Make / Model
Ranger,Ranger,
Engine Size
3.0,4.0OHV 2.9, 4.6DOHC, 4.0SOHC
you could repair the spot, and box the frame.

MAranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
245c.i.
Transmission
Manual