• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

radio doesnt work after fuse taken out. . .

calflipdude

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual
hi all im new to the forum and to ford rangers. i have a 1965 mustang so i normally dont worry about anything too electrical, until my uncle gave me his 1995 ford ranger xl. this truck is super clean. .! anyways, like the title says, i took a fuse out of the panel while the radio was on. that killed the radio. i put the fuse back in, but nothing. the clock however, still works. odd? its a stock radio, most would probably say just get a new radio, but im a poor college student with $45 to my name. how do i fix this? any help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

krugford

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
um, did you turn the radio back on?

calflipdude

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual
uh yes, i turned it on the knob does nothing. its been a week or two. i unhooked the negative battery terminal and hooked it up again, fiddled with the knobs. nothing.

v-8power

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Look for a "reset" button, about the size of a paper clip. I dont know if it has one but worth taking a look. Just a suggestion. Good Luck

Sasquatch_Ryda

Ford Technician
OTOTM Winner
Solid Axle Swap
Forum Staff - Retired
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
Solid Axle Swap 4x4
Tire Size
40s
The fuse didn't happen to blow when you put it back in did it? Try swapping with another fuse of the same amperage with the truck turned off.

calflipdude

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Transmission
Manual