• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Transmission Cooler Reccomendations

97ranger4x4

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hey guys.

I just installed a tranny temp gauge on my 97 ranger. I have the 5R55E Auto. I have noticed that my tranny reads about 180-200 during the day. This is with normal driving around town and freeway. Outside temps are in the low 90's. I would like to get it down to around 170 so when I tow or go up to the mountains I wont put to much strain on my tranny. What is the best cooler you reccommend? How hard are they to install? I am an avid mechanic and feel pretty comfortable installing or fixing things on my truck.

-Keith :)

Totalled

Law Enforcement
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
8 rabid gophers
Transmission
Automatic
The biggest that will fit.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
200 deg or so is ABSOLUTELY NORMAL. It's about the same as your coolant temperature. There are no modifications needed, and 170 deg will be overcooling. Your transmission is cooled through the radiator.

Will

Forum Staff Member
TRS Forum Moderator
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Toyota
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual

Ozwynn

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
RE Interceptor
Transmission
Manual
My credo
If you can't go through it or around it, then go over it.

mjonesjr

I dance with the Devil...
Firefighter
Forum Staff - Retired
Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Last edited:

Ozwynn

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
RE Interceptor
Transmission
Manual
My credo
Let me clarify

If I had one of these

in my suburban I might still have a functioning transmission in it