• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Buying a Ranger...some BASIC questions...

TheRob

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hi, everyone. I'm taking delivery of a 99 2WD Ranger with the 2.5L engine and the manual (M50D?) transmission. I have a lot of experience with FWD cars, but almost none with RWD vehicles or trucks. I want to change all of the fluids and just make sure it's all good to go as far as it can be when I get the truck. So, I have some basic questions:

1. Where is the drain plug for the transmission, and what is the fluid capacity?
2. Is there a transmission fluid filter somewhere, or is that just the automatics?
3. How often should the rear differential fluid be changed, what is the capacity, and what kind of oil is used?

I know these are super easy questions, but I just want to make sure everything is right. Thanks a lot, and I'm looking forward to this new engine!

-Rob

darkspork

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
So, I have some basic questions:

1. Where is the drain plug for the transmission, and what is the fluid capacity?
2. Is there a transmission fluid filter somewhere, or is that just the automatics?
3. How often should the rear differential fluid be changed, what is the capacity, and what kind of oil is used?

I know these are super easy questions, but I just want to make sure everything is right. Thanks a lot, and I'm looking forward to this new engine!

-Rob
1. Crawl underneath the truck (driver's side), on the (driver's) side of the transmission you will see two plugs/bolts. A top one, and a bottom one. Bottom is drain, top is fill (my transmission actually has it labeled, I bet yours does too).