• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

remote turbo 4.0L

erikm

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
5.0L
Transmission
Automatic
i am new to forced induction. what would i need to do to install a remote turbo on my 95 4.0 ranger, all stock except for custom cold air intake and exhaust. do i need to recalibrate the computer for small boost turbo?(if so how do i do this?) change injectors? change ignition? i can do the fab work for installation, but the tuning part is kind of a mystery to me.

turbo cat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
exploder
Engine Size
4.0ohv turbocharged
Transmission
Manual
first of all i would just put the turbo under the hood. Second of all your 95 should be OBDII so i would go with a SCT xcalibrator and bigger injectors pump and regulator....

erikm

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
5.0L
Transmission
Automatic
first of all i would just put the turbo under the hood. Second of all your 95 should be OBDII so i would go with a SCT xcalibrator and bigger injectors pump and regulator....
any recommendations on turbo size? i have seen a lot ppl mention T3/T4 with certain AR sizes.

skyy_4life

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.3 turbo
Transmission
Manual
well size of turbo isnt everything. mine is .50 a.r with t3/t4 flange. turbo's do wonders for rangers. find one u can afford and put other money into injectors and shit.

turbo cat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
exploder
Engine Size
4.0ohv turbocharged
Transmission
Manual