• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Speedometer doesnt work till i get to 30mph

akacabbage

Reaction score
I have a 99 2wd ford ranger and the speedometer (also the tripometer (assuming the odometer doesnt work either)) doesnt work untill i get to 30 mph. Does anybody know if '99's have cables or not?

Ranger23695

Reaction score
Check the speed sensor on the rear end.. Most of the time they go open. you can check it with an ohm meter..

Riddle_Rob

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3T
Transmission
Manual
Abs sensor has to do with speedometer? Sorry I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to mechanics. My speedometer does the same thing but doesn't work at all most of the time. When its cold out, in winter time lets say, it works 100% until the engine bay and cab are warmed up. Then it quits. EVERYTHING works except the speedometer and odometer after that. The sending unit has been replaced at the transmission and had a shop look at it and they cant figure it out. I was wondering, maybe I need a new cluster? Maybe some of the solders only work when they are condensed from the cold then break apart when warm? Any help would be great.

Riddle_Rob

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3T
Transmission
Manual
AS well, my ABS has been disconnected. I bought htis truck from a dealer and had them safety it etc. When I got it the ABS light was on and ABS doesnt work as I can lock up my wheels. I hate ABS anyways but if it has something to do with speedometer its going to be a complicated fix? Anyone know?! Its a 96 Ranger 2.3L 5 speed.

Wicked_Sludge

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3-point-GO
Transmission
Manual