• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

garrett t3 turbo?

ncsdaonex

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L 4 cylider
Transmission
Manual
it 150 dollars a good deal on a garret t3 turbo, it is used but in good condition. Also, im new to tearing motors apart, if i put forged pistons in my 2.3 do i remove the connecting rods and remove the crankshaft to change pistons?

Iron Ranger

Run lil' ricer RUN!!
Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
MTOTM Winner
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
0.040 punched 302
Transmission
Manual
it 150 dollars a good deal on a garret t3 turbo, it is used but in good condition. Also, im new to tearing motors apart, if i put forged pistons in my 2.3 do i remove the connecting rods and remove the crankshaft to change pistons?
Not very knowledged in the world of turbos, but I can tell you the engine specs. You don't have to remove the crankshaft to remove the pistons. The pistons are connected to the connecting rod which are BOLTED to the crankshaft. I believe that you can have access to the carriers from the oilpan side.

But since you are that far in the build anyway, might as well replace the bearings on the crankshaft just to say that you are starting anew.

Thats how it was on my 302 build, so the 2.3 MIGHT be different, but they shouldn't be too different.

ncsdaonex

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.3L 4 cylider
Transmission
Manual
garrett t3 turbo

Not very knowledged in the world of turbos, but I can tell you the engine specs. You don't have to remove the crankshaft to remove the pistons. The pistons are connected to the connecting rod which are BOLTED to the crankshaft. I believe that you can have access to the carriers from the oilpan side.