• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

2.9L A4LD conversion to C5

Jonodo

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I have a 86 Ranger XLT 2.9L and the A4LD has begun to start puking. I Just had the thing rebuilt not even 60 000 km ago. The tranny shop that rebuilt it said that it is not possible to mount a C5 to the 2.9. That the bolt patterns on the bell housing flanges are different. I read the tech pages but am still confused.
I am mechanically inclined but a welder :icon_welder: by trade. So expect a lot of questions.

Question 1: I live in the foot hills of Alberta (Calgary), Now would this terrain screw a tranny after a complete rebuild in only 54765 km?

Question 2: Would it really cost $1800 just to change the shift bands?

Question 3: Will a C5 Fit and how hard is it to get it in there?

If Anyone has any questions about proper weld procedures I'm your man.

Thanks in advance

Jon

Jonodo

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I have no idea why this posted twice.....?

Redriverranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
The C5 from behind a 2.8 will bolt to your 2.9. The C5 also came factory behind v8's, so that is probably where they are confused as they are a different bolt pattern. It has an interchangeable bellhousing just like the C4. I recommend replacing the flexplate with the 2.8 flexplate and spacer as well. It is a shorter transmission, so crossmember and driveshaft modifications are necessary. You can re-use the starter you have. You have to come up with a shifter.

Ranger Dave

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
The C5 also came factory behind v8's

what V8's and in what

blue83ranger

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic