• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

M5OD rebuild questions

OldRedB2_84

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I am rebuilding my m5od next week or whenever the rest of my parts get here and I need to find the torque specifications for all the bolts, does any one know where I can find them? What is the break in procedure after rebuilding a m5od? And what should i use for assembly lube?

-Nick-

azhrei

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
cost

hi was wondering what the parts cost?

OldRedB2_84

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Just go to ebay.com/motors and type in m5r1 in the search box.

JunkYardDog

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
FORD
Engine Size
7.3 powerstroke diesel
Transmission
Automatic
i rebuild semi trans for a living at weller. the front bearing cap for the input just hit it with a 3/8 impact. just remember that you are tightening them up into aluminum, too much will strip them out. a quick burp of the trigger will be plenty. if i were to estimate the pound feet it would pry be like 25ft/lbs-30ft/lbs. loctite is a must on those bolts. for the top cover just do the same thing a quick burp of the trigger on each one is enough. just make sure you have correct fluid in the trans(automatic trans fluid-NOT GEAR LUBE). be gentle for a few miles to make sure it feels right and doesnt make any unusuall sounds. then you can drive it like normal.

Sponsored Ad

Sponsored Ad

Staff online

Members online

Member & Vendor Upgrades

For a small yearly donation, you can support this forum and receive a 'Supporting Member' banner, or become a 'Supporting Vendor' and promote your products here. Click the banner to find out how.

Truck of The Month

Shran
April Truck of The Month

Recently Featured