• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

1985 Ranger -- should I buy??

99RangerKrazy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Ok I found this 1985 Ranger in town, 4x4 4cylinder (i thought 4 cylinder only came in 2wd, but I'm no expert that's for sure), 4 speed, camo'd paint. 4 inch lift with 32s. It has an on board air compressor, cb radio, cd player, black in bed tool box, it has a new alternator, battery, plugs, and wires. The guy wants $900 for it, but I think I may be able to talk him down to $700..if that's the case should I go for it? I already got a 99 Ranger which is my DD but I don't really want to offroad it because I don't want to ding it up, so I was thinking of getting this 85 Ranger to offroad in. I haven't talked to the guy yet, so I'm assuming it runs reasonably well..so what do you guys think...yay or nay?

85_Ranger4x4

Forum Staff Member
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
OTOTM Winner
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS 20th Anniversary
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Sounds like a good deal to me as long as the engine/tranny work good. They did put a 4cyl in 4x4's back then so it could be original. With that much work already done to it and it being 22 years old it could have been swapped in as well.

Joe_Roofer

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990ish
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
As long as it does run reasonably well,
I'd say go for it!
Worse case if it is a POS you can recoop a lot of the $ parting out.

99RangerKrazy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual