• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Axles, gears?

Nehring13

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
ok, sorry, dont want to bother anyone, but i am a noob when it comes to this area, i have a limited supply of knowledge when it comes to cars and trucks, and am looking to boost this knowledge so i can do more on my own. i have a 98 ranger 3.0 v6 5 spd 4x4. i have 373's in it, i put 31" mudders in it. is this an ok gearing for it, or is something better, for a little bit better performance? any info is much appreciated. thanks
~Mike

michowski

Reaction score
Thats the same tire and gear size I run and I dont have any problems. Same motor and everything. I have no problem chirping the tires from a dead stop and it for me it has enough low end. If you want more low end then the next step would be to get some 4.10 gears. One thing to remember tho, if you give it higher gearing your low end will increase but your top end will go down slightly. Right now you can do 65mph cruising at like 2300rpm. If you put the different gears in it your rpms will be like 2600 rpm. If you hardly do any highway driving and want more low end grunt then I would get some 4.10 gears. If you plan on getting bigger tires in the future I would hold off on the gears. For me I have plenty of bottem end for anything. I can haul 800 pounds of stuff no problem, chirp the tires just fine. If you want more low end then 4.10 gears will give you a little more.

MAKG

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Cruising at 2600 RPM isn't even a slight problem. If that's the ONLY reason not to put 4.10s in, put the 4.10s in. Though the usual reason is cost, especially for a 4WD.