• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

AC Shrader valve sticky - need to know what tool to get

stinkijeans

Article Contributor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
It appears my Shrader valves on both the high and low side have a very tiny leak. Although the port caps contain the leak, I want to replace the valves.

Question is... where can I get one of those valve core tools that will remove the cores without discharging the whole system? I found some on EBay, but it looks like they are for the R-12 systems. Mine has the R-134A with the quick-connect ports ( I assume all R134 has that type of port - I'm new to fixing this AC stuff)

I thought about the local AC shop, but they won't even look at it without dropping $75 in their hands, so piss on that... I'll buy my own damn tool. I own 3 Rangers, so I have no doubt I'll use the tool more than once.

??

2001 Ranger XLT Supercab, 4.0 SOHC

Thanks,

SJ

skippy

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
ford
Engine Size
2.8l durasparked rice killer
Transmission
Manual
It appears my Shrader valves on both the high and low side have a very tiny leak. Although the port caps contain the leak, I want to replace the valves.

Question is... where can I get one of those valve core tools that will remove the cores without discharging the whole system? I found some on EBay, but it looks like they are for the R-12 systems. Mine has the R-134A with the quick-connect ports ( I assume all R134 has that type of port - I'm new to fixing this AC stuff)

I thought about the local AC shop, but they won't even look at it without dropping $75 in their hands, so piss on that... I'll buy my own damn tool. I own 3 Rangers, so I have no doubt I'll use the tool more than once.

??

2001 Ranger XLT Supercab, 4.0 SOHC

Thanks,

SJ