• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Fluctuating Oil Pressure

Jspafford

Logan Andrew Feb 17, 2012
V8 Engine Swap
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Chevy 3500HD
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
6.6L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
5"
Tire Size
35"
I am just beginning to notice what I hope to be nothing. My mechanical oil pressure guage is starting to bounce around a lot. Not so much when under load, but when running at a constant engine speed it starts bobbing around within 5psi up and down. It seemed to start after I had done some work and partially kinked the plastic line, but now it seems to be getting worse, and I straightened the line back out.

Sound like a guage or engine problem.

Wicked_Sludge

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3-point-GO
Transmission
Manual
being a mechanical gauge, i doubt its your gauge.

you might pull your oil filter off an check it to make sure the drainback valve isnt torn or something

only other thing i can suggest is running an engine flush next oil change. as long as the pressure doesnt fluctuate down to below 20 or so, your probably not in any immediate danger (you wont cause damage to your engine until below 10 PSI)

Jspafford

V8 Engine Swap
TRS Banner 2010-2011
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Chevy 3500HD
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
6.6L
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
5"
Tire Size
35"
being a mechanical gauge, i doubt its your gauge.

you might pull your oil filter off an check it to make sure the drainback valve isnt torn or something

only other thing i can suggest is running an engine flush next oil change. as long as the pressure doesnt fluctuate down to below 20 or so, your probably not in any immediate danger (you wont cause damage to your engine until below 10 PSI)