• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

NO caster/camber adjustment on Ranger??

gdk771

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
I just acquired a 96 Ford Ranger. It was pulling slightly to the right so I took it in to have the alignment checked. After it was aligned, it still pulls to the right so I took it back and had them look at it again. The alignment tech told me there was no way to adjust the caster or camber on this truck. Is this true? It seems rather odd to me these two adjustments are not possible. He did adjust the toe. I looked on each side of the suspension and did not see any sort of location to put shims. My previous cars were old Chevy caprices so I know they had this adjustment but I am new to Ford's and trucks. Do I just have to live with the pull if this is the case?

Thanks

dogboy

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
'93
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
Yes, they DO have camber/ caster adjustments.

Somebody else could explain it much better than me, but on the top of the TIB's, out by the wheel, there is a large-flat nut looking thing on the top. It is an "eccentric (sp?) and when you turn it, it moves the steering axis/ pivot around in a small circle. You can't adjust camber or caster independantly. When you adjust one, the other one is changed too.

Like I said, I can't explain it very well, but somebody else probably can.

I think the shop is full of crap... I adjusted mine in my driveway...

I have never seen the 2wd TIB's before, but I don't see why Ford would make it adjustable on the 4wd's TTB's, but not the 2wd's.

CopyKat

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual