• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Will this make a difference?

Speedwagon

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
On my '92 3.0, I have a Flowmaster 50 series with stock piping. Except, when I ordered the muffler a long time ago, I measured wrong, and the muffler inlet/outlet is 1/4" larger than the truck's piping. Recently I've developed a hole in the exhaust, upstream of the muffler. So I'm looking to get the system redone.

I can go to Midas and get it done for about $120. Or I can go to a custom shop, and spend upwards of $280-500 to replace the whole system. So, would I notice any difference in a custom shop job vs Midas? This is really the only mod this truck has, so I'm thinking Midas will be sufficient, especially since I can upsize the pipe by 1/4" to match the muffler now, and even with crush bends, I should be slightly larger than stock all through the system.

Thoughts?

michowski

Reaction score
No there wont be any difference. Its hard to get a good noticable difference with a 3.0. Id just have midas repair the problem and be done with it, unless you think its bad enough to replace everything.

Speedwagon

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Well the biggest reason I wanted to redo the whole thing, is because the position of the muffler. Currently, it has to be in a position that let's it bang on the heat shield. If they redo it, it will be better positioned and eliminate this. Plus, the front piping is original I think, and the hole is getting decent sized from rust.

michowski

Reaction score
I would just choose midas. They do carry a warrenty in redoing the muffler they should be able to mount it correctly as well.

Sponsored Ad

Sponsored Ad

Staff online

Today's birthdays

Member & Vendor Upgrades