• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Don't know this one.......?????

reno

Reaction score
Got my manifold gauges today and tried them out. OK, maybe Makg will know this one, then again someone else here might beat him to it.

When I hooked up the gauges <engine off> they read 95 PSI LOW side, and ( I really don't remember the exact reading) about 110 PSI HIGH side.

Then <engine on> they read (and this is where I get lost in this maze), 180 - 200 PSI HIGH and Max movement of the needle high end of LOW side while clutch is engaged, when Clutch disengages, LOW side needle drops quickly and HIGH side remains about 180 - 200 PSI. I am thinking moisture in the system, which means P.O. did not replace the drier, possibly pump the system correctly either.

What do you guys think, I am still learning all this A/C stuff and don't really have a clue. :dunno:

Last edited:

reno

Reaction score
OK, I have been thinking about this, and it actually might be a blocked orifice tube. But with me not knowing the original history of this truck or the repair of the A/C (was a R-12 system) could still have moisture in the system or worse yet, never pumped down.

thegoat4

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
You're not very clear. What were both the highest and lowest readings on the low side? What were both the highest and lowest readings on the high side? Are the pressures steady or do they flutter?

And make sure you check after the system has run for a little bit and stabilized. Even screwed up systems will settle on a pattern.

The low side should DROP when the compressor comes on. If the low side rises, you either have the lines reversed, or you have a blockage somewhere between the low side port and the compressor suction.

Also, what are the problems with the AC to begin with? No cooling at all? Weak? Blowing hot like the heat is on?

reno