• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Ranger audio

fastmaxx400

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
Hi, I am new to car audio and these forums. I have a few questions about upgrading the audio in my ranger. I own a 2002 ranger 4.0 supercab. The truck came with the mach mp3 player. I like the sound of the stock speakers and love the mp3 cd compatability, but i would like more bass. I am on a limited budget and I am not looking to impress anyone, just get some better sound. I would like to keep the mach mp3 setup, but just add a sub. I have been looking at subs like this I was wondering if i could get this to work? I have a little knowledge on electronics and car audio but it is very limited, I am no expert. Would I need an amp for this setup or is it built in? Do I need to upgrade wiring or anything? How would i go about installing this in my ranger? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Kevin

Last edited:

Pistons23

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
or if you want to add a seperate sub/amp setup, make sure the amp you choose has the speaker level inputs. 150-300w fed to a nice 10" sub would be nice.

Muddycowboy

GOT MUD?
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
you can buy a converter at walmart to change the amplified signal to a non amplified signal. it looks like a little blue translucent box. put one with my mach mp3, just splice it into the speaker harness and it has AV cable out puts for you amp. made life really simple!

fastmaxx400

Reaction score
Transmission
Automatic
thanks for the help!
Where would I put the converter, do i have to take out the radio and put it behind there?

Muddycowboy

GOT MUD?
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual