• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Conversion time for the 94

red85

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
306 ci
Transmission
Automatic
I purchased the first in a long list of turbo conversion parts for my 94 2.3 Ranger. I bought an LA3 computer and now I'm wondering what pinout changes I'm going to have to make. If I get a turbo and turbo intake will I be able to make it run without changing anymore than the injectors and tapping an oil return port into the block? Forgive me but I'm new to the forced induction world.

mhughes165

V8 Engine Swap
Solid Axle Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
u will need to change out the pistons, best case scenario is i would find a complete motor to rebuild, easiest way todo it

red85

V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
306 ci
Transmission
Automatic
I suppose so. The 94 is still my DD until spring. At that point the 85 will be doing the daily grind. This truck will fall into the DD/ weekend warrior when I'm done with it, so it won't be some wild strip only machine with no street manners at all. The max output of this engine I'm shooting for is around 200 hp max. I figure once I change out the main and rod bearings that the bottom end can be left pretty much stock. This engine currently has 300000k on it and it doesn't burn oil, blow smoke on startup and it makes great oil pressure. Should I upgrade the oil pump to a turbo pump or will the Ranger stocker keep up with the turbo?

Davis

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
stay with your stock pump. it will do just fine. i have heard that hi-volume and hi-pressure units are dangerous because they put too much stress on the the distributor gear and if that goes, so does you motor because the oil pump wont turn.