• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

85 2.3T swap

Jeepsandrangers

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
hello everyone. finally after a year of searching ive found a 88 turbo coupe and was able to purchase it as a donor for my 85 EFI 2.3 ranger. being a broke college student I cant afford to make the ranger quite the vehicle that I want it to be. so for now im just going to run the stock psi on the turbo and slowly upgrade the parts I would need to eventually get it to run a heavier load.

just had a few questions for some you guys

first of all, do one of you have the ECM pinout diagrams for the 85 ranger? I've seen the 88 on here, im not sure but it may be close enough to what I need.

Also what should I upgrade immidiately for the engine swap? (already have walbro pump, radiator off of a V6 ranger, the electric fans off of the turbo coupe) i know i need to upgrade the clutch as well. What i question is the strength of the rangers manual transmission (trans was sold off on the turbo coupe when i bought it) and the rear axle. ive seen the forum to swap the rear with the axle off of the explorers and will do it if it is a neccesity when swapping.

so really the question is what can the ranger withstand long enough until i will able to afford a fix for it lol

truly appreciate the help guys

Last edited:

scotts90ranger

RBV's on Boost
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1990, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Engine Size
2.3 Turbo
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Tire Size
35"
I don't think as much is as necessary as you might have been lead to believe... Believe me I've been through what you are talking about and understand...

First off, the '88 is the same as the '85 for the wiring, it didn't change until '89 when the dual plug setup was added, even then it's very minor differences...