• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Truck cranks but wont start

Low

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford ranger xlt
Transmission
Manual
Hey yall, I'm new to wrenching and need some help.
Working on my 1991 ranger xlt 4.0 v6 4x4.
I just replaced my clutch, flywheel, clutch master/ slave cylinder.
Put it all together and it started right up and drove great! That was yesterday. Today, I started it and it started right up. I put it in reverse and backed out of driveway, then put it in 1st and I wasn't giving it enough gas and it died. Now it won't start at all.. Cranks and cranks but nothing "engages".
I thought maybe I flooded it, waited half an hour and it still won't start. Did that 3 times this morning and nothing..
Did my spark plugs die?
Iam new to all of this and any advice is greatly appreciated!

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Welcome to TRS :)

Check around the upper bell housing to make sure no wires got pinched between engine and trans when reinstalling, it happens quite often

First thing to do any time you have a "crank but no start" is the 50/50 test
Pull off the large air tube from upper intake, you can leave it off, just make sure fan can't hit it
Spray fuel: gasoline, quick start(ether), carb cleaner, ect..............., into the engine
Try to start
If it starts and dies, then you have spark and compression, but no fuel delivery
If it doesn't start then you have no spark or compression
50/50, instant results on what to check next, no guessing

Just for a heads up and not your current issue
1991 4.0l has a left and right O2 sensor, the plugs for these are next to each other at the back of the engine bay
Either O2 will plug in to either connector, O2s use universal connectors