• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Thump thump thump..

Macneil87

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
I have a 98 ranger 4L 5 speed. Once the engine warms up and only at idle, I hear a thump thump thump noise. Sometimes it’s clear as day, others it’s more quiet. I haven a clue which side it’s coming from as it sounds like it comes from both sides.

All functions work as they should; even the cruise control. I know these trucks are all essentially operated by vacuum which leads me to believe it’s something of these sorts but I wanted to ask if anyone else has run into this issue in the past?

I am an automotive mechanic, however just haven’t had the chance to look into in great detail as of yet. I’ve only had the truck about a month and has done it since the day I got it.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
I assume the frequency of the noise changes with RPMs?

So you believe it is an "engine noise"

The "thump" describes a low tone vs a "tick" which describes a higher pitch, like a rocker, lifter or fuel injector "tick"

And since it only comes after oil is thinner(warmed up) you may have a main bearing or rod bearing issue.

4.0l OHV engines are not known to have bearing issue but since the truck is new to you there is no history.

You can test for Rod knock by disabling spark on one cylinder at a time, if "thump" stops then that cylinder has the problem

Its possible it could be an exhaust leak
Or fan belt pulley noise

Macneil87

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual