• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

This is driving me crazy! B3000 Flex Fuel

mrstix

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B3000
Engine Type
3.0 V6
Engine Size
Flex Fuel
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Hello all,
Just a brief intro: I just purchased a 2003 Mazda B3000 Flex Fuel for trips to Home Depot and it will be my son's first vehicle. I am attempting to do some maintenance on the vehicle to get it running as smooth as I can. I have some technical background as I have been doing basic appliance repair for the last 2 years, but I have not done much mechanical work on vehicles.

Okay, so the issue is that I am going mad trying to figure out the right spark plugs for my truck.
I have been reading thread after thread and have only concluded that I should use Motorcraft or Autolite.
I also read that most recommend double plat because of the sparking order, or possibly fine wire plat. Don't know if it matters.
BUT, where I am struggling is which part number for either brand??
EVERY site I go to offers at least 2-3 options in those brands. Rockauto for instance recommends the Motorcraft SP-439A under the Mazda B3000 tabs. But when I switch to the Ford Ranger 3.0 tab they have the SP-432 OR the SP-500, mentioning that the sp-500 is for Flex fuel. Then why isn't it under the B3000 tab?!? Also, both Motorcraft plugs are under the Single Platinum tab, but on Advance auto parts site, the description mentions double Platinum and on other sites it doesn't..
(Edit: Don't know if it matters but I don't ever plan on using Flex Fuel. I have no plans to use anything other than 87 unleaded. )
They also have the Autolite APP104 mentioned under Mazda and Ford variants, but neither mention Flex Fuel.