• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Swap vs Swap

jimbII

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hello , just registered , been reading these post after purchasing a BII , well actually 2 of them one is an 85 with the usual head problems(hasn't been torn down) ghostly disappearance of coolant . But has an excellent body and almost perfect interior. The second is an 86 in great mechanical condition which was gone over and all repairs including later model heads.
I was a mechanic from the early 80s to the mid 90s but was in GMC and Chevrolet dealerships during this time with all my work in the light duty and medium duty trucks.
Now here' s the question,
Would it be more feasible to do the engine swap or a body swap , taking into consideration the 85 needs things like rear spring hangers , exhaust , the auto hubs switched out (broken, but that's another story)86 has lock-outs. Along with various other this and that which are all on the 86 chassis.
the 85 runs great , no water in the oil , no great clouds of steam , no puddles, it doesn't overheat. good oil pressure , top is a little chattery but not like some engines I've heard.

I've read through all the forums on engine swaps,
So any advice would be appreciated.

I'm really glad to have found these forums, great bunch of people with a great bunch of advice.

4.0B2

Supporting Member
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 v6
Transmission
Automatic
IMO, if i was gonna be "restoring" one, i'd do the body swap.. that way you can give it a full frame treatment...clean up, primer, paint... plus you can do the suspension easily w/ th body out of the way! also you can have all the interior out to clean up, paint if needed...

side note: get new body mounts, not a body lift, but new poly or rubber body mounts..