• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Starting Issues

Lukeinthewild

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
Hey all, I'm new here. I'd say I'm a Saturday mechanic but that's a little generous so I'll say I'm learning and would like to understand more. I live out in the Bush (off the road system) of AK so resources are limited, though I can fly parts in within a few days.
The issue on 2001 Ford Ranger 4.0- won't start in the cold (multiple attempted fixes below)

I have had intermittent starting problems with the truck since last Fall. Sometimes it would start up first time, other times it would take multiple cranks. The problem got worse and the truck became much more unreliable. Looking back I'm not sure if the colder weather was the factor or something else. Maybe both.

I noticed my EGR sensor was fried (literally melted) and I replaced that. The starting irregularities persisted.
I didn't know the last time the fuel filter was changed so I replaced that. My problem was resolved immediately. Then it happened again as it got colder.
I checked the fuel pressure (off the rail, in the cold) and it read zero.
A friend helped me tow the truck into a heated airplane hanger and I checked the pressure again on the rail and now it read 62-63psi and the truck fired right up. I put some HEET in the tank to try to eliminate any moisture and drove the truck for quite a bit afterwards. No success. The truck wouldn't start after it was freezing out.