• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Stabilizer?

Weasel

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XL
Transmission
Automatic
I'm a bad member. I drifted off participation and now return because I have an issue. I promise to try and be more active but with Squirrel Brain, anything is possible.

Anyway. I had some noises that increased on acceleration, like a squeak. Ir also developed a vibration. In an effort to continue to be wrong in my diagnostics, I suspected something wrong with the tire. I had jacked it up and pushed and pulled on the tire but it stayed firm. I thought I felt a low spot on the treads.

So, I decided to try a different tire, jacked it up and removed the tire and discovered the following;
thumbnail.jpg

Despite my best efforts to be wrong in this case, I determined that that was not right. Now, I'm not a mechanic but I've managed to learn enough to do some of my own work. What fails me is what part name I should be ordering because, unfortunately, most of the parts sites do not return favorable results with "The doohickey". Google tells me that this may be the stabilizer, or sway bar link. Sway bar link gets me results which, mercifully, are relatively cheap, even here in Canada.

I just want to ensure I'm ordering the proper part before I place an order. 2008. 2.3L Ranger.

Comments? Suggestions? Insults?

Roert42

RBV's on Boost
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ranger XLT
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Yeah, it's a sway bar link. Essentially it's a long bolt with some bushings and washers and a spacer in the middle.

That's what it's supposed to look like. If the one side broke the other is likely similar. For $10 a pop I would do both sides. They should be the same on the driver side and pass side.

1666287547894.png

Roert42

RBV's on Boost
TRS Event Participant