• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Sluggish 1996 4.0

nezwick

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hey everybody, I'm new to TRS; I always hang out at FEOA.net but my father's '96 Ranger runs like a pig and we are in need of some advice. Here's the deal:

1996 Ranger 4wd extend cab
4.0 V6 with overdrive slush-o-matic, all bone stock
Recent "tune-up" (new plugs, wires, air filter, fuel filter, coolant flush)
Bought used 4 months ago

It does not have any erratic idle or misfires and sounds alright, but has NO power and feels like it's towing a house when we drive down the road. Checked the brakes (not seized or dragging), got an alignment and tire balancing.

Today, we ran Sea Foam through a vac line, cleaned the IAC, and cleaned about 1/8" of dried-on black crusty stuff and goo from the throttle body and throat plate. That helped IMMENSELY with throttle-response but it's still really gutless when it comes to acceleration/hills.

What else should I try cleaning/replacing? We're also getting about 17mpg which I think is a crime. And even though it has an autotragic, we think the 4.0 should have a lot more "stuff" than it does.

Any advice is appreciated!

trhull

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Automatic
17mpg is pretty good for a 4.0. I used to get about 15 city, 17 highway. I am getting about 10 mpg right now, and I'm pretty sure something is wrong, as for the sluggishness I'm having similar problems; going to take it in and throw a scan tool on it to check for injector and ignition problems. I'll let you know if I figure anything out.

Kona

06/2014 OTOTM Winner
Canada Military - Veteran
OTOTM Winner
ASE Certified Tech
Ham Radio Operator
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
4.0L
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
7"
Tire Size
35x12.50x15