• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Senior Design Project

Sampson

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
Well I'm in my last semester of college and that means taking capstone class, which is a class where a groups of students design and build something. I'm in a group with 6 other people, we are all majoring in mechanical engineering technology. We are having trouble coming up with an idea for a project that can be done by us with a minimal amount of money (around $400 to $500) and be finished in the 13 weeks we have left this semester all while taking other classes aswell. So my question is do you guys have any ideas? Fabrication of anything isn't a problem just the cost.

96Indyram

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1984, 1987
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
2.8, 2.9
Transmission
Manual
What field would you like the project to be in? Automotive? Aerospace? Kitchen/ bathroom appliances? Lawn and garden? ..etc...lol.

Give us a direction your group wants to go....

superds

Supporting Member
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Bronco II
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
2" body. 1.5" coil spring spacers/rear block
I don't have an idea for you but if you do come up with one and you think it'll break the budget, consider asking local manufacturers to sponsor the project. I know companies I've worked for have sponsored capstone projects which had very little relation to their business. If you want even more help from the company, come up with an idea that will benefit them. I know working with a local company is a major part of capstone experience where I went to school.

Sampson

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual