• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Proper push rod length

Jbrown1238

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
My credo
None
I am working on a 306 with GT40P heads, stock valves, Ford Racing lifters, Comp Cam, stock rockers. The block deck surface is OE spec but the heads were decked and the tops of the valve stems were cleaned up a bit. I mocked up my OE push rods to see how close they were. I was hitting my torque spec on several rockers before the push rod felt tension. I could still spin the push rod with little drag even after the torque was set to spec. The lifters are new and they soaked for several days prior to the test. At this point I am sure I need longer push rods but wanted to get a few opinions from forum members here. This is my first build and I want to be sure I am not missing something first.

Both the intake and exhaust valves were closed when I torqued the rockers. What I am finding confusing is that I am still scratching a center patch on the top of each valve stem where I marked it with a Sharpie. Thoughts?

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Wouldn't make sense for stock push rods to be too short if head was shaved a bit or even just surfaced, they would then be long.

You should be able to spin push rod on closed valve/cam neutral, but not move it up or down.
It means push rod is being pressed down by rocker on to lifter spring enough to prevent play but not enough to cause bottoming, and a floating valve at high RPMs.
So spinning good, play bad

With all rockers torqued, I would manually turn the engine over a couple of full turns then check push rods, that should pump the lifters for a better check.

Last edited:

Jbrown1238

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
My credo
None