• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Pretty pissed off right now....

colby450xc

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
4.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
I feel I got screwed out of holiday pay, give me your opinions. Ill try to make a long story short.

I work for a privately owned body shop. I graduated from college with a bachelors in business administration in may. I have been lazily searching for a better job since then, my work figured I would be doing that so they offered me a raise. The raise involved me being paid salary, the same amount for 40-50 hours per week, after 50 I am paid time and a half for the figured hourly amount.

Last monday (day after new years) was designated as a paid holiday (paid 8 hours at hourly rate). The painter and I ended up working that monday to try and finish painting a big job, a fifty foot class A rv. COMPLETE PAINT JOB.

I ended up working 56.5 actual hours that week, so I received my hourly rate for 56.5 hours with 6.5 being time and a half for 6.5 hours. I however was not paid for the 8 hours of holiday that everyone else in the shop was paid. Only myself and the painter worked that monday. His holiday pay was added to his check.

I was denied that holiday because my boss feels that the 8 hours of holiday pay is only meant to make it so I would make my regular pay check because I am a salary employee and must work at least 40 hours weekly to make my regular salary check.

Am I pissed off for no reason, is he correct. I am so bothered by this that I try not to think about it. I feel like I got royally phucked out of 8 hours of pay when I worked my ass off all week. I worked 18 hour days trying to get that big job done and feel I got taken advantage of.:temper:

bobbywalter

TRS Technical Staff
TRS Event Staff
V8 Engine Swap
TRS Technical Advisor
TRS Banner 2012-2015
TRS 20th Anniversary