• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Power Steering not working...leave it?

Initialjoe

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
My credo
Never Underestimate the Power of Stupid People in Large Groups
When I bought my truck earlier this year the Power steering wasn't working. However, at that time the brakes and transmission were a larger issue so I have taken care of those issues and have finally gotten the truck running right. I have been running without power steering for at least 2000 miles or so.

When I pour fluid into the reservoir the power steering will whine, half-work, and then stop whining/working as the fluid rapidly leaks out of the reservoir. I haven't added fluid into it for a while, but I would assume it would do the same thing if I added fluid. Do I only have to replace this reservoir? Or have I damaged something by running without fluid? The belt/pulley has been working fine, it has just been difficult to turn without the power steering. Also, can I just leave it without the power steering? I don't mind, it's just annoying in parking lots.

These might be stupid questions, but this is my first vehicle with power steering issues.

adsm08

Senior Master Grease Monkey
Supporting Member
Article Contributor
Ford Technician
TRS 20th Anniversary
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Engine Size
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Tire Size
31X10.50X15
The PS fluid lubes and cools the bearings in the pump that the shaft for the pulley runs on. They will fail eventually, and the pump will seize up. You either need to fix that leak or find an idler from a PS delete truck.

Mark_88

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Dordge
Engine Size
3.3 Fuel Injected
Transmission
Automatic
My credo
Love Thy Neighbor