• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Odd /no cam sensor. Please help!

Dirtman

Former Middleweight Moss Fighting Champion
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
It's up there.
Total Drop
It's down there.
Tire Size
Round.
My credo
I poop in the furnace.
Im not good with obd1 systems. So I have no further value but Ill do you a favor and send up the bat signal for the wiring guru around here.

Calling @RonD

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
If you are running a 1990-1994 4.0l 60-wire computer, then the spark system is separate from computer

It has these 3 parts: https://forums.hybridz.org/applications/core/interface/imageproxy/imageproxy.php?img=http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b81/BRAAPZ/EDIS/EDIS-6Large.jpg&key=ddfaa013169dd6c9cae2eb0a20b5937227598ea7d84cd3a108ff01cbf2fb1a84

The coil pack
The EDIS-6 spark controller
The Crank sensor and its tone wheel on the crank shaft pulley

Crank sensor is connected to EDIS-6
EDIS-6 is connected to coil pack

Crank sensor========EDIS-6==========coil pack

(people running there own fuel injection systems liked this EDIS system because it was also stand alone, doesn't "need" a computer)

The crank sensor starts the ball rolling, its a VR sensor so generates its OWN AC voltage, .5volt, so not much, but its the PULSE thats used not the voltage
This Pulsed AC is for timing, the tone wheel has a missing tooth(seen at bottom of pic) and that gap denotes #1 TDC
Each tooth is 10deg apart, so this is engine's timing
The EDIS-6 sends this timing Pulse to the computer, the computer doesn't even know you want to start the engine until it gets this crank sensor pulse from EDIS-6, computer then uses this Pulse to time the fuel injectors