• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

No crank no start dash lights go out after miswiring the ignition coil

tenndav

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Mazda B3000
Transmission
Automatic
I accidently mixed the coils wires 1-3 and when it started it sounded bad and I turned it off quickly and when stopped a heard a clunk in the engine. I fixed the coil wires and tried to start it and when I turn-on the key all lights shut down and nothing happens? I think something might have seized in the engine due to coil wires being in the wrong place. 127K miles. I never thought that I could blow an engine by crossing the coil wires??? I'm a total disabled vet and I'm trying to take a smarter step to troubleshooting instead of pulling all plugs and try to turn the crankshaft. I hope it's just something electrical instead of mechanical damage. Any suggested starting points and things to check?

Is it possible for the engine to run backwards for a second or two and break the starter? I read about this happening because I heard a clunk when I shut it down. I guess I should inspect the starter and I hope pieces aren't broken off and fell down in the torque converter???

Thanks,
tenndav

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
You can't hurt/damage an engine with mis-wired coil, or any other wiring, you are correct that not how an engine works

engine won't "run" backwards but you can turn the engine backwards as much as you want doesn't hurt anything

All dash lights SHOULD go off when you turn the key to START, always have, you just may not have noticed
The ignition switch turns off most systems to give starter motor all the battery AMPs available for start up

1999 3.0l should have a 4 wire coil pack
One 12v wire(red) and 3 ground wires that run to the computer