• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

New Ranger Owner '94 5-speed manual 2WD

HermanMango

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
2.3 (4 Cylinder)
Transmission
Manual
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Just a post to say hi. I got my ranger from a friend of a friend. Bought it from an auction non running and no key. 78k miles. I'm an aircraft mechanic but don't have as much experience in automotive other than my personal fleet so another mechanic buddy of mine helped me get my Ranger restored. Lots of cleaning old fuel and trips to the local pick a part later and I've got myself a running truck. I barely fit in the thing but still love it and now that I've got it running its time to start tinkering with it and get it up to snuff. All my google searches always lead me back to this site so I figured it's time to make an account. While this version is known as being gutless I though it still seemed a little weak. I'll start another thread for it but my first order of business will be getting a new rear axle installed. I don't know anything about my trucks previous life but it ended up with some 29 inch tires which were dry rotted so during the restoration I just replaced those with the same size (235/75 R15). Now that I've done some more research and learned that I've got the 7.5" type 84 axle (3.45 ratio) I think I've found my power problem. Other than that I'm loving my little ranger and have already had several (mis)adventures in it. I'm looking forward to more. If you wanna help me out with my Differential/Axle search I'll add a link to that thread once I get it going.

sgtsandman

Aircraft Fuel Tank Diver
TRS Forum Moderator
U.S. Military - Active
TRS 20th Anniversary
TRS Event Participant
Ham Radio Operator
GMRS Radio License
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2011/2019
Make / Model
Ranger XLT/FX4
Engine Size
4.0 SOHC/2.3 Ecoboost
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift