• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

*MYSTERY PROBLEM* Severe ticking after 20 mins of driving

ibanezblazer43

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual
Hello everyone!

I have a mystery problem that has been plaguing my mind and soul for a solid two weeks now. I will start off by giving you a history of how this issue started, and then just dive right into the specifics of the problem.

THE HISTORY
I had been driving my Bronco II for a solid 8/12 months without any issues whatsoever. During this time I had been doing all my regular maintenance like clockwork. Oil pressure was in the normal range, temp was in the normal range, both oil and temp sensors had been replaced recently. Life was GREAT.
I do an oil change every 5000-6000 kms religiously, and it was at about that point. When I do oil changes, I buy the FRAM Tough Guard oil filter that has an efficiency rate of 99%, and use only high grade oil.
It was a warm and dry summer here in BC, so I decided to put my Bronco II's rear end on jack stands and fix all the rust on it. The rust project lasted roughly 4 weeks, during which I did not start the vehicle whatsoever. At the end of the rust project, I did my routine oil change.
There was roughly 20L of fuel left in the tank.
**Please note that the rear end was elevated for an extensive amount of time.

THE PROBLEM
After the 4 week rust project was finished, I felt quite pleased with myself.
I also made the mistake of joking to a friend "boy, wouldn't it be funny if I did all this work, and there was something wrong with my engine? lololol!". I started the engine and it ticked AWFULLY.
I thought, "oh maybe it just needs to be driven for a bit because it's been sitting for so long". I drove my Bronco II, the ticking went away, then came back worse than before accompanied with an painful loss of power.