• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Manual to Automatic conversion in conjunction with 5.0 swap

Dirt Rooster

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
I'm an aircraft mechanic, don't really know much about vehicles and their compatibilities. I am planning to do a 5.0 swap into a ranger this year. I already have a great donor 2000 explorer with 4wd I am going to be using. While on the lookout for a ranger to buy, I came across a 1999 4wd that's in great shape. Only problem is it's a 5 speed and my explorer is an automatic. My question is to do with how much extra work would be required or what parts I would need that wouldn't be able to be sourced from my explorer. As one of my main priorities for this project is convenience, I'd like to stay as close to "plug and play" as possible. Therefore, I'm trying to figure out if it would be worth it to just hold off until an automatic ranger shows up.

franklin2

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Bronco II
Transmission
Manual

Uncle Gump

Token Old Guy
TRS Event Staff
TRS Forum Moderator
Supporting Member
VAGABOND
TRS Event Participant
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
2006/1986
Make / Model
Ranger/BroncoII
Engine Size
4.0L SOHC/2.9L
2WD / 4WD
4WD
My credo
Lead follow or get out of my way
Just remember that 98 and newer Rangers are Dana 35 SLA type front end... while 97 back to 93 (Gen 3) use Dana 35 TTB front end.

Be sure you even start with the right truck.

Dirt Rooster

U.S. Military - Veteran
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Transmission
Automatic
This is a lot of additional information I didn't have before. Thanks.

RonD

Official TRS AI
TRS Technical Advisor
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Transmission
Manual