• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Locking Diff

TheGringo

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
3.0 V6
Transmission
Manual
Hey guys. I could really use some help because I'm knew to this. I have a 2005 Ford Ranger Edge 2WD, 3.0 V6, manual with an open diff. I'm pretty sure I have a ford 8.8" rear axle. I was wondering what I need to do in order to make it a locking diff? I am a college student so I don't have much of a budget. I was looking at trying to find something from a junkyard or along those lines. What do I need to get and what are the gears I need to know and all that good stuff? I would really appreciate it! Thanks guys!

Captain Ledd

Article Contributor
V8 Engine Swap
Reaction score
Vehicle Year
1984, 1997
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
302, 2.3
Transmission
Manual
My credo
If you're not making mistakes, you're not learning.
Basically it boils down to a carrier swap.

Currently the only ones I know of for the 8.8" are the ARB Air Locker (which I have), and the Eaton E-Locker. You will need the 28 spline versions. Unless there's something wrong with the gears you have, I'd re-use them.

NOTE: The Air locker will require an air supply. This can be done with a compressor, regulated to 85-105 psi IIRC, OR you can get a tank of compressed air and just remember to fill it up, or or, some other form of compressed gas, CO2 would probably be the cheapest. Whatever way you do it, just make sure you can regulate it or you'll blow the seals.

The E-locker only requires a 12v power supply. I have one im my 2500 GMC, so far it works good. I've heard some complaints about the 8.8" version, I guess it has a different operating mechanism than the others but I've never checked that out. Something about being ball actuated and having difficulties going from forward to reverse, like rocking it to get out of a snow bank.