• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Introduction and some questions

Lord Corn

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XLT
Engine Size
3.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Tire Size
225/70R15
Hello everyone! My name is Lord Corn and I recently got a 2004 Ranger XLT 3.0L 2WD with 122K miles.
When I bought the vehicle, It had a cam sensor code, flat tire, acceptable looking spare..., rough starting but it always starts within 15 seconds, previous salvage (bed matches the cab color pretty well), and front wheel speed sensors. The door ajar light was on, and the airbag light flashes 5 times then stays solid. Total price was $850 paid, with about $100 in reg and taxes. I've been working with vehicles for about 15 years, actually knowing what i'm doing since about 5 years ago. I do not have much knowledge with Ford, in fact my experience couldn't be further (VW diesel...), but I decided for less than a grand it would be worth trying to fix.

Some things I have done with the two weeks I've had it:
  • Fuel / Ignition
    • Fuel tank cleaning additive
    • Fuel filter
    • Plugs and wires
    • Cam synchro and sensor bought but not installed
  • Oil change
  • Replaced battery cable ends
  • Patched flat tire
  • Patched spare tire...
  • Inspected passenger side valve train
  • Inspected rear brakes
  • Repainted white tailgate to black (matches dark grey well enough)
  • Removed roughly three pounds of ground walnut (and 18 whole walnuts) out of the air filter and air box