• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Installing new gears, question.. Please help!

Viva*the*Ranger

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford
Engine Size
Transmission
Automatic
Hey folks. So I'm gona try and install my own 5.13's front and rear. I've read many of write up's on it, and it seems like it's pretty easy to screw things up. I've never done it, but I'm very mechanically inclined (CNC mechanic by trade), and either have the tools, or am willing to buy/rent what ever tools are needed IE, monster torque wrench.

My question: If I over torque the crush sleeve, can I buy one separately, or do I have to buy a whole master install kit? Also, the write up's I've read, didn't really go in to detail about setting backlash. They pretty much said "makes sure to set your backlash to this spec". Do any of you have steps, or explanations as to doing this properly? And are the install kits the same, for the D35, and Explorer 8.8? I was told that today, but would like to make sure. And is the TTB D35 install kit, the same as the Jeep D35 rear?

It's a fairly simple concept, and I have a grasp on it, but I really don't want to buy multiple master install kits, due to screwing up, or pay some mechanic $300 per diff, to do it for me. Having the knowledge and doing it myself, would be great for me as well. Any insight on this, would be much appreciated.:icon_thumby:

Thanks in advance:icon_cheers:

-Denny

Last edited:

doorgunner

Lab Rat for V.A. hospital
U.S. Military - Veteran
V8 Engine Swap
MTOTM Winner
2009 Truck of The Year
TRS Banner 2010-2011
TRS Banner 2012-2015
Reaction score
New Orleans (8' below sea level & sinking)
Vehicle Year
1934/1989
Make / Model
Ford Ranger
Engine Type
V8
Engine Size
350+1
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
2WD
Total Lift
N/A
Total Drop
3/4
Tire Size
23570R15
My credo
JESUS Loves Ya!