• Welcome Visitor! Please take a few seconds and Register for our forum. Even if you don't want to post, you can still 'Like' and react to posts.

Installation of a Skyjacker 4” class II lift info

JMF661

Reaction score
Vehicle Year
Make / Model
Ford Ranger XLT
Engine Type
4.0 V6
Transmission
Automatic
2WD / 4WD
4WD
Total Lift
Stock
Tire Size
31” x 10.5”
Hello all!
This community has been pretty great so far, lots of ranger fans out there with tons of experience and expertise that I certainly don’t have. I’m an amateur wrench, my old man is a pro and gave me the bug at a young age. He runs a 1970 bronco 302 with a Dana 44 solid axel and such, a real nice gosh dang off roader. Anyway, him and his off-road buddies like to cruise around the Mojave looking at abandoned mines and such, I’ve always wanted to join them.
So, I purchased a 1994 Ranger 4x4 4.0l, I have a history with these trucks and happen to think they are pretty great.
I have since done a few things to this truck; new water hoses, belt pulleys, intake manifold gaskets, plugs, wires, starter cables, starter, tires, and other typical maintenance items. (I have even messed up and put Mobil one full synthetic oil in it, leaks like a son of a gun).
So, at this point I’m pretty lucky, I have gotten a nice 4x4 ranger for a decent price, it has a nice frame, no rust, a clean body, the top of the motor looked pretty decent. So, now what?
I put some 31” BFG KO2s on it, great! The wheel wells are full, no travel at all. Time to lift it, I want to off road. Not rock crawl, nothing extreme, just trail it, and climb some steep hills. So I started researching.

Ended up with a used FX ranger 31 spline Torsen rear end with 4.10 gears, ordered a Eaton Detroit locker and 4.11 ring and pinion for the front. Naturally I have to lift this mess, have a skyjacker 4 inch class II lift; radius arms, new rear leaf packs, coils, all the good stuff.